ERDI Challenge Coin: inaugural recipients are recognized for contributions to Public Safety Diving

ERDI™ (Emergency Response Diving International) announced earlier today the list of people who are the first to be awarded the ERDI Challenge Coin. This coin is earned by individuals whose work to promote Public Safety Diving within their communities has helped to improve PSD awareness, develop universal safe practices and attract both private and public sector funding for badged PS divers and support staff world-wide.

“This group of individuals have had a positive impact on Public Safety diving and more specifically have earned the appreciation and recognition of their peers in this important and growing segment of the service dive industry,” commented Brian Carney, president of ERDI.

Describing the ERDI Challenge Coin as a “small sign of our most sincere appreciation and a way to say thank you for all the effort made in the promotion and teaching of ERDI Public Safety Diving courses over the years,” Carney went on to explain that the first recipient of the honor are now charged with a new responsibility.

“We are asking this group of very special individuals to continue their work and additionally to help us identify the next wave of PSD educators and other team members who deserve the special recognition that is associated with the Challenge Coin.”

Carney said that during the past few years, several events at home and abroad have highlighted the need for comprehensive and standardized training for public safety dive teams. “Natural disasters, massive oil spills, and the destruction of homes by floods have shown us how important this service can be in any sized community. And how important it is to continue to develop and support individuals with the right training, equipment and infrastructure to offer help in the toughest of conditions and harshest circumstances.

The list of recipients of the inaugural ERDI Challenge Coin includes:

First Name
Last Name
Paul Montgomery
Ed Christini
Shawn Harrison
Jeff Smith
Buddy Brown
Joey Brown
Britt Clark
Jonathan Huber
Michael Glenn
Dart Craytor
Phillip Graf
Jacques Brassard
Robert Outlaw
Ronnie Outlaw
Dale Autry
Matthew Gruca
Henry Woronka
Charles Herman
Joe Mokry
Wendell Nope
Ronald Kurth
Michael Bourne
Buck Buchanan
Ronald Dorneker
Bill Hardman
Spencer Slate
Sam Rich
Rodney Pedersen
Mike Pedersen
Dan Howard
J. Mathieu Burden
Bret Gilliam
Mitch Skaggs
Ed Young
Phil Venture
James Wilk
Jason Martin
Keith Cormican
Bill Nichols
Glen Faith
Ray Mazzola
Grady Weston
Justin Weston
Ron Westmoreland
Dan Vaccaro
Brian Vaccaro

If you are a member of a Public Safety Dive Team, are a member of ERDI or are interested in finding out more about the ERDI Challenge Coin or how to nominate an individual to receive one, please contact ERDI Headquarters.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.