Are you part of a dive team? Have you ever wanted to join the Dive Team?

Did you know that some departments increase annual salary based on being a member of the Dive Team? Start your training today and receive your awareness level qualification with ERDI Elearning courses! If you already are on your dive team, increase your expertise with ERDI’s specialty programs.

Who is ERDI?

ERDI is a Public Safety Diving (PSD) agency that trains police, fire, and other public safety organizations in search and rescue techniques that apply to almost any submerged environment.

ERDI trains departments on how to make and maintain PSD teams and is the only public safety dive training agency that has its own insurance and endorses its own standards. In fact, some of the largest, most successful, and renown public safety departments use ERDI Programs to conduct training.

Helping Public Safety Professionals, into — and out, of the water!

Each and every day public safety divers face the challenges of swift water, black water, and a myriad of other potentially harmful situations as part of the job. ERDI offers training to help teams accomplish these missions with the best possible education available.

NFPA 1006 and NFPA 1670 Standards Must be Followed

All ERDI programs are both Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) and National Fire Protection Association (NFPA compliant). Many of the ERDI programs can be taught at several levels in accordance with NFPA guidelines. The level of participation in the practical portion of the course will determine the final level of certification. The classification levels are: Awareness, Operations, and Technician. All ERDI programs are available to public safety professionals regardless of their position within a department.

Levels of Training and Certification:

1. Awareness

The Awareness level can be completed by doing the online academics or participating in the associated classroom-based section of education for the ERDI course of interest. Upon completion of any of the online or classroom ERDI Academy courses, an individual will receive an awareness level certificate. For additional insight and understanding of the course, the individual can audit the practical session.

2. Operations

The Operations level of certification requires the participant to complete the online or classroom academics and also participate in the non-diving practical segments of the course taught by an ERDI Instructor. Depending on the program an individual is completing, this portion of the training shows how to properly perform and/or supervise non-diving emergency response duties.

3. Technician

The Technician level is the final step and requires the participant to complete the required number of practical training sessions under the supervision of an ERDI Instructor. Here, the individual will apply what he or she has learned during the awareness and skill-development sessions while learning practical lessons that can only be gained by performing all practical activities associated with the program.